23 Best Action RPG Games for Android in 2026 (Offline & Free Checked)

The best action RPGs on Android in 2026 are Eternium (free, plays offline), Dead Cells (pay once) and Diablo Immortal (free, online). Eternium has no ads on its Play listing and no energy timer. Dead Cells is $8.49 up front. Diablo Immortal is the big one for loot grinders, but it asks for money at the end.
Here is what most lists skip. A game's price tag tells you little. Pascal's Wager costs $4.99 and still lists in-app items up to $99.99. Dungeon Hunter 6 is free and lists items up to $304.99.
So we sorted every pick by how it makes money and whether it needs internet. On 1 October 2026 we checked 47 action RPGs named on this page against live Google Play and App Store listings. 23 passed. Of those 23, 21 sell in-app items, 9 carry ads, and only 2 have neither.
By Aditya Singh. Last checked 1 October 2026. Every price, score and update date below comes from the live listings we pulled that day.
In a hurry? Jump to: quick picks · how to sort ARPGs · pay once · free and offline · free online loot games · anime action RPGs · comparison table · popular but not here · dead or not out yet · download size · pay-to-win and kids · pick by need · how we checked · bottom line

Quick picks: the best action RPG for you
| You want | Play this | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Free, offline, no pay-to-win claim | Eternium | Swipe-to-cast takes a few minutes to learn |
| Pay once, fast combat | Dead Cells | $8.49. You restart when you die |
| Old-school story RPG | Exiled Kingdoms | $5.99. Slow and dated |
| Try free, then buy | Grimvalor | Only act one is free |
| Cheap offline sword fighter | Shadow of Death: Dark Knight | $3.99, and ads are still flagged |
| Hack and slash, no wifi | Arcane Quest Legends | Ads. Items up to $13.99 |
| Free pixel runs, offline | Otherworld Legends | Ads on the Play listing |
| Big free loot grinder | Diablo Immortal | The endgame favors spenders |
| Loot with no stamina | Torchlight: Infinite | Online only. Items up to $104.99 |
| Open-world sword game | Where Winds Meet | Huge download |
| Anime-style fast combat | Wuthering Waves | Character pulls cost money |
Pick in 30 seconds:
- No wifi and no cash: Eternium.
- Happy to pay a few dollars: Dead Cells.
- Want loot and don't mind a shop: Diablo Immortal.
- Want an anime-style world and a big download: Wuthering Waves.
How to sort action RPGs: money and internet
An action RPG (ARPG) is an RPG with real-time fights instead of turn-based menus. You aim, dodge and time attacks, and you still level up and collect gear. Hack and slash is one style inside it: fast melee and lots of enemies.
That covers a lot of games. So we split the picks into four groups. The group tells you more than the genre tag does.
- Pay once. You buy the game. There is no energy timer. A few still list small in-app items, and we say so.
- Free and offline. Ads or an optional shop pay for it. No server is needed, but only where the Play listing says so.
- Free online loot grinders. Live servers, seasons and big shops. Fun, but set a spending limit first.
- Anime action RPGs. Big 3D worlds with character pulls. Our gacha guide covers pity rules.
Every pick lists the same things: price, ads, in-app items, rating on both stores, last update and the iPhone download size. Controller support appears only when the listing says it.
Group 1: Pay once
Five of these cost money on Google Play and one is free to try. Only two of the paid ones have no in-app items at all.
1. Dead Cells
Fight through a castle that changes every run.

- Price: $8.49 · no ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.49 to $7.99
- Google Play: 4.80 from 134,498 ratings · App Store: 4.80 from 12,303
- Last update: 8 September 2025 · iPhone download: 1.9 GB (App Store)
- Controller: the Play listing says "MFi external controller support". MFi is an Apple label, so test your pad on Android
What you get: A fast 2D action game. The listing calls it a "roguevania": you explore one linked world, but dying sends you back to the start. You unlock new paths as you go.
The catch: It is a platformer, not a loot game. You will not build a huge character. It also lists small in-app items up to $7.99, even after you pay $8.49. Offline play: not confirmed.
Tip: Learn each enemy's pattern before you chase speed.
Get it: Dead Cells on Google Play · App Store.
2. Exiled Kingdoms
A single-player action RPG in the old PC style.

- Price: $5.99 · no ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.99 to $4.99
- Google Play: 4.81 from 2,484 ratings · App Store: 4.63 from 2,215
- Last update: 26 August 2026 · iPhone download: 233 MB (App Store)
- Offline play: not confirmed (the listing calls it single-player)
What you get: An isometric world you can roam freely. The listing says you talk to hundreds of characters, solve dozens of quests and pick a path for your character.
The catch: It plays like an old PC RPG. It is slow and has a lot of text. The Play version is a $5.99 full game with small items up to $4.99. On iPhone the base app is free. We did not check what it unlocks.
Get it: Exiled Kingdoms on Google Play · App Store.
3. Shadow of Death: Dark Knight
A dark-fantasy sword fighter that says it needs no internet.

- Price: $3.99 · ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.99 to $99.99
- Google Play: 4.75 from 537,056 ratings · App Store: 4.81 from 11,850
- Last update: 13 August 2026 · iPhone download: 573 MB (App Store)
- Offline: the listing says it is an offline game that does not need the internet
- Rated Teen on Play
What you get: You pick one of 4 shadow knights, then build a skill tree and collect armor sets. The listing compares the fights to classic fighting games.
The catch: Play charges $3.99 and still flags ads and lists items up to $99.99. That is an odd mix, so read the store page before you pay. On iPhone the app is free (App Store 4.81 from 11,850), so the two stores do not use the same deal. Its stick-figure look is also not for everyone.
Tip: Check the price on your own Play page first. Prices can differ by country.
Get it: Shadow of Death: Dark Knight on Google Play · App Store.
4. Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance
A Dungeons & Dragons hack and slash.

- Price: $12.99 · no ads flagged on Play · no in-app purchases
- Google Play: 4.57 from 1,632 ratings · App Store: 4.65 from 897
- Last update: 12 May 2023 · iPhone download: 2.3 GB (App Store)
- Offline play: not confirmed
What you get: No ads and no in-app purchases on either store. The listing promises action, puzzles and spells in a D&D story.
The catch: It is the most expensive pick here at $12.99, and the iPhone price is the same. The last Play update was 12 May 2023, so treat it as a finished game. It also has fewer ratings than most picks.
Get it: Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance on Google Play · App Store.
5. Heroes of Loot
Small, cheap, random dungeons.

- Price: $3.49 · no ads flagged on Play · no in-app purchases
- Google Play: 4.32 from 2,189 ratings
- Last update: 9 July 2025 · iPhone download: 49 MB (App Store)
- Offline play: not confirmed
What you get: Random dungeons, loot and quests. You pick Elf, Warrior, Wizard or Valkyrie. No ads and no in-app purchases.
The catch: The Play listing says it first came out in 2013. It is simple pixel art, so skip it if you want a big story. The iPhone version costs $3.99, but it has only 7 ratings there.
Get it: Heroes of Loot on Google Play · App Store.
6. Grimvalor
Slash, dodge and jump. First act free.

- Price: free · ads flagged on Play · in-app items $6.99
- Google Play: 4.71 from 132,403 ratings · App Store: 4.85 from 9,777
- Last update: 18 August 2026 · iPhone download: 775 MB (App Store)
- Controller: the listing says it supports Android game controllers
- Offline: the listing says "Play offline"
What you get: The listing says act one is free and lasts 1 to 2+ hours. One purchase unlocks all five acts. Fights chain attacks, dodges and jumps.
The catch: Only act one is free, and the free version is flagged for ads on Play. The unlock shows as $6.99 on Play. On iPhone, Grimvalor is a paid $5.99 app. Do not mix the two prices up.
Get it: Grimvalor on Google Play · App Store.
Group 2: Free, and works offline
These are free with ads or a small shop. We say "offline" only when the Play listing says it. Where it does not, we write "not confirmed."
7. Eternium
Our top free pick. No energy timer, plays offline after the first download.

- Price: free · no ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.99 to $99.99
- Google Play: 4.78 from 2,690,858 ratings · App Store: 4.85 from 63,602
- Last update: 22 September 2026 · iPhone download: 1.2 GB (App Store)
- Offline: the listing says it can be played offline after the content download, apart from a couple of online-only features
What you get: Tap to move. Swipe to draw spells. The developer says there is no stamina or energy. It calls the game "never pay to win" and says over 90% of players play free. Those are its own claims.
The catch: The shop is not small. Gem packs go up to $99.99. And the swipe-to-cast controls feel odd for the first few minutes. It is also a 2014-era game (Play lists June 2014), so the look is dated.
Tip: Spend your first hour just playing. You will not need the shop to learn it.
Get it: Eternium on Google Play · App Store.
8. Otherworld Legends
Pixel roguelike action RPG. Short runs, big combos.

- Price: free · ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.99 to $4.99
- Google Play: 4.67 from 204,059 ratings · App Store: 4.78 from 9,726
- Last update: 2 September 2026 · iPhone download: 1.3 GB (App Store)
- Offline: the listing says single players can play offline
- Rated Everyone 10+
What you get: Every run uses a random dungeon. You pick up odd items and try combos. The listing says combos are "just a tap away."
The catch: Ads are flagged on Play. It is built for short runs, so it is not the pick if you want a long loot grind. The multiplayer side needs internet.
Get it: Otherworld Legends on Google Play · App Store.
9. Magic Rampage
A platformer action RPG with a full offline campaign.

- Price: free · ads flagged on Play · in-app items $1.99 to $21.99
- Google Play: 4.64 from 780,054 ratings · App Store: 4.79 from 2,049
- Last update: 25 July 2026 · iPhone download: 237 MB (App Store)
- Controller: the listing says it supports gamepads, joysticks and keyboards
- Offline: the listing says the story campaign is fully playable offline
What you get: 13 classes and hundreds of items, per the listing. The campaign has kept growing for years.
The catch: Ads are flagged and items go up to $21.99. It is a 2015 game, so the art looks old. The player duels are online.
Get it: Magic Rampage on Google Play · App Store.
10. Arcane Quest Legends Offline
Old-school hack and slash, built for no wifi.

- Price: free · ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.99 to $13.99
- Google Play: 4.26 from 36,295 ratings · App Store: 4.45 from 582
- Last update: 13 September 2026 · iPhone download: 1.1 GB (App Store)
- Offline: the listing says it does not require an internet connection
What you get: The listing says there is no auto combat and no standard classes. You build your own fighter and take on quests and bosses.
The catch: Its score of 4.26 is the lowest of the free offline picks. Ads are flagged and items go up to $13.99. The iPhone download is 1.1 GB.
Get it: Arcane Quest Legends Offline on Google Play · App Store.
11. AnimA ARPG
A dark-fantasy hack and slash with a single-player campaign.

- Price: free · ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.99 to $35.99
- Google Play: 4.30 from 122,120 ratings · App Store: 4.53 from 418
- Last update: 8 December 2025 · iPhone download: 2.2 GB (App Store)
- Offline: the listing says the single-player campaign is offline
What you get: You slash, loot and build your own style. The developer says the difficulty can go "potentially infinite."
The catch: Items go up to $35.99 and ads are flagged. The iPhone download is 2.2 GB, the largest of the offline picks.
Get it: AnimA ARPG on Google Play · App Store.
12. Almora Darkosen RPG
A one-person retro hack and slash with a big island.

- Price: free · ads flagged on Play · in-app items $4.99
- Google Play: 4.68 from 55,014 ratings · App Store: 4.70 from 297
- Last update: 27 June 2026 · iPhone download: 120 MB (App Store)
- Offline: not confirmed on the Play listing
What you get: The listing says one person made it. You explore an open island, craft, mine and fight with swords and axes.
The catch: Ads are flagged and one item costs $4.99. Only 297 people rated it on the App Store, so that score is less proven.
Get it: Almora Darkosen RPG on Google Play · App Store.
13. Soul Knight
A top-down gun-and-sword roguelike with RPG upgrades.

- Price: free · ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.99 to $25.99
- Google Play: 4.60 from 1,767,780 ratings · App Store: 4.76 from 126,810
- Last update: 11 September 2026 · iPhone download: 1.5 GB (App Store)
- Controller: the listing says a controller is supported
- Offline: the listing mentions offline LAN multiplayer. Solo offline play: not confirmed
What you get: More than 20 heroes. The listing describes a shooter mixed with RPG and roguelike parts.
The catch: It is mostly a gun game. Ads are flagged and items go up to $25.99. Play shows 100 million+ installs, so it is hardly a secret.
Get it: Soul Knight on Google Play · App Store.
14. Blackmoor 2
An arcade platformer with sword fights and co-op.

- Price: free · ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.99 to $9.99
- Google Play: 4.39 from 58,065 ratings · App Store: 4.59 from 3,290
- Last update: 29 August 2026 · iPhone download: 672 MB (App Store)
- Needs internet: the listing says multiplayer and dungeon mode need a connection
What you get: 13 heroes, a story mode and a dungeon builder. The developer says the whole game can be unlocked by playing.
The catch: Ads are flagged and items go up to $9.99. The story mode is the part to try first. Offline play for the story: not confirmed.
Get it: Blackmoor 2 on Google Play · App Store.
Group 3: Free online loot grinders
These need internet. They run on servers, and their shops are big. Play them with a spending rule.
15. Diablo Immortal
Blizzard's free action MMORPG. The big name in mobile loot.

- Price: free · no ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.29 to $199.99
- Google Play: 4.71 from 2,078,191 ratings · App Store: 4.68 from 308,432
- Last update: 17 September 2026 · iPhone download: 3.8 GB (App Store)
- Rated Mature 17+ on Play
- Needs internet: yes, it is a shared-world online game
What you get: Real-time combat, solo play, co-op dungeons, raids and PvP, per the listing. You can play the story casually without paying.
The catch: Items go up to $199.99. A 2022 GameRevolution guide says the endgame is balanced around spending money for better gem odds. That guide is old, so check recent patch notes. Casual players are fine. Chasing the top is not.
Get it: Diablo Immortal on Google Play · App Store.
16. Torchlight: Infinite
Loot grind with no stamina and no cooldowns.

- Price: free · no ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.99 to $104.99
- Google Play: 4.31 from 54,935 ratings · App Store: 4.40 from 4,165
- Last update: 11 September 2026 · iPhone download: 3.7 GB (App Store)
- Needs internet: not stated on the listing. It runs seasons and a player trade house, so plan on online play
What you get: The listing says no stamina and no cooldowns. It has 240+ skills and 200+ legendary gears, and it adds new seasons.
The catch: Items go up to $104.99, and there is a player trade house. Set a budget before you open the shop.
Get it: Torchlight: Infinite on Google Play · App Store.
17. Dungeon Hunter 6
A hack-and-slash MMO in an old Gameloft series.

- Price: free · no ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.49 to $304.99
- Google Play: 4.22 from 55,038 ratings · App Store: 4.54 from 13,001
- Last update: 24 September 2026 · iPhone download: 2.0 GB (App Store)
- Needs internet: the listing calls it an action MMORPG
What you get: Dungeon crawling for loot in the Dungeon Hunter world. The listing says it is a sequel to the Gameloft series.
The catch: It has the highest item price in this article: $304.99. Play lists GOAT Games as the developer, not Gameloft.
Get it: Dungeon Hunter 6 on Google Play · App Store.
18. Warframe
Co-op sci-fi action with parkour. On Play since February 2026.

- Price: free · no ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.99 to $199.99
- Google Play: 4.01 from 30,904 ratings · App Store: 4.86 from 26,395
- Last update: 5 September 2026 · iPhone download: 4.0 GB (App Store)
- Rated Mature 17+ on Play
- Needs internet: the listing calls it an online game
What you get: Pick from 57+ Warframes, per the listing. You fight in squads and run across missions.
The catch: Its score of 4.01 is the lowest of our picks. Items go up to $199.99, and the iPhone download is 4.0 GB. It is more shooter than sword fighter.
Get it: Warframe on Google Play · App Store.
19. Where Winds Meet
An open-world martial arts game with cross-play.

- Price: free · no ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.49 to $99.99
- Google Play: 4.26 from 58,524 ratings · App Store: 4.43 from 3,271
- Last update: 14 September 2026 · iPhone download: 3.7 GB (App Store)
- Needs internet: not stated. Cross-play and online features are listed
What you get: An open world set in ancient China. The listing says there are 30+ mystic arts and cross-play with Xbox, PS5 and PC.
The catch: The listing says there is "no pay-to-win" and that money buys only cosmetics. That is the developer's claim. The iPhone download is 3.7 GB.
Get it: Where Winds Meet on Google Play · App Store.
Group 4: Anime action RPGs
These are big 3D games with character pulls. Treat them as online games. Some are on our games like Genshin Impact page too.
20. Wuthering Waves
Fast combat in an open world.

- Price: free · no ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.99 to $99.99
- Google Play: 4.37 from 520,978 ratings · App Store: 4.65 from 59,407
- Last update: date not shown to us · iPhone download: 3.4 GB (App Store)
- Offline play: none stated. Treat it as online-only
What you get: The listing calls it a story-rich open-world action RPG. It also says it won Players' Voice at The Game Awards 2025.
The catch: Items go up to $99.99, and it is a character-pull game. The iPhone download is 3.4 GB. The Play update date was not shown to us.
Get it: Wuthering Waves on Google Play · App Store.
21. Arknights: Endfield
Action combat plus a factory you build.

- Price: free · no ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.99 to $69.99
- Google Play: 4.58 from 92,359 ratings · App Store: 4.48 from 6,848
- Last update: date not shown to us · iPhone download: 3.7 GB (App Store)
- Offline play: none stated. Treat it as online-only
What you get: The listing says you lead operators and build production lines in a factory system. Play lists it as released in January 2026.
The catch: It asks for more thinking than a pure action game. Items go up to $69.99, and the iPhone download is 3.7 GB.
Get it: Arknights: Endfield on Google Play · App Store.
22. Punishing: Gray Raven
A sci-fi action RPG with lightning-fast combat.

- Price: free · no ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.99 to $99.99
- Google Play: 4.35 from 180,930 ratings · App Store: 4.21 from 8,708
- Last update: 20 September 2026 · iPhone download: 4.0 GB (App Store)
- Offline play: none stated. Treat it as online-only
What you get: The listing calls it a fast-paced sci-fi action RPG. You lead a squad of Construct soldiers.
The catch: Items go up to $99.99. Its iPhone score is lower than its Play score (4.21 vs 4.35). The iPhone download is 4.0 GB.
Get it: Punishing: Gray Raven on Google Play · App Store.
23. Devil May Cry: Peak of Combat
Combo-heavy action with a Capcom-supervised story.

- Price: free · no ads flagged on Play · in-app items $0.29 to $129.99
- Google Play: 4.54 from 115,343 ratings · App Store: 4.57 from 12,333
- Last update: 7 July 2026 · iPhone download: 4.0 GB (App Store)
- Offline play: none stated. Treat it as online-only
What you get: The listing says Capcom's Devil May Cry team helped make it and that Capcom supervised it. It uses classic characters and bosses.
The catch: The developer is NebulaJoy, not Capcom. Items go up to $129.99, and the iPhone download is 4.0 GB.
Get it: Devil May Cry: Peak of Combat on Google Play · App Store.
Comparison table: all 23 action RPGs
Price and score come from the live Google Play listings. "Offline" is only what the listing or developer says.
| Game | Price | Play score | Offline? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dead Cells | $8.49 | 4.80 | Not confirmed |
| Exiled Kingdoms | $5.99 | 4.81 | Not confirmed |
| Shadow of Death | $3.99 | 4.75 | Yes (listing) |
| Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance | $12.99 | 4.57 | Not confirmed |
| Heroes of Loot | $3.49 | 4.32 | Not confirmed |
| Grimvalor | Free | 4.71 | Yes (listing) |
| Eternium | Free | 4.78 | Mostly (listing) |
| Otherworld Legends | Free | 4.67 | Yes (listing) |
| Magic Rampage | Free | 4.64 | Yes, campaign |
| Arcane Quest Legends | Free | 4.26 | Yes (listing) |
| AnimA ARPG | Free | 4.30 | Yes, campaign |
| Almora Darkosen | Free | 4.68 | Not confirmed |
| Soul Knight | Free | 4.60 | Not confirmed (solo) |
| Blackmoor 2 | Free | 4.39 | Not confirmed |
| Diablo Immortal | Free | 4.71 | No |
| Torchlight: Infinite | Free | 4.31 | Not stated |
| Dungeon Hunter 6 | Free | 4.22 | No |
| Warframe | Free | 4.01 | No |
| Where Winds Meet | Free | 4.26 | Not stated |
| Wuthering Waves | Free | 4.37 | Not stated |
| Arknights: Endfield | Free | 4.58 | Not stated |
| Punishing: Gray Raven | Free | 4.35 | Not stated |
| Devil May Cry: PoC | Free | 4.54 | Not stated |
Popular, but not in the picks
We read eight roundup pages from seven sites for this search. Eternium appears in 6 of the 8 pages. Genshin Impact and Pascal's Wager appear in 5. Diablo Immortal appears in 4. Here is why some well-known names are not above. Our cutoff is a Play score of 4.0 or higher.
| Game | What we found | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| Genshin Impact | Play 3.30 from 5,237,370 ratings. App Store 4.23 from 579,198 | Below our cutoff on Play. The same game scores 0.9 higher on iPhone, so read recent reviews. See games like Genshin |
| Zenless Zone Zero | Play 3.08. App Store 4.07 | Below the cutoff on Play |
| Pascal's Wager | $4.99. Play 3.12 from 17,019. App Store 4.20 from 912 | Lists in-app items up to $99.99 even though you pay up front. The listing says controller support |
| Titan Quest | $10.99. Play 3.76 from 31,016 | Below the cutoff. The iPhone version, Titan Quest HD, scores 4.43 from 925 |
| Honkai Impact 3rd | Play 3.97 | Just under the cutoff |
| Bleach: Brave Souls | Play 3.89 | Under the cutoff. BLEACH: Soul Resonance is a newer game we did not check for this page |
| Tower of Fantasy | Play 3.47 | Below the cutoff |
| Fate: Reawakened | Play 3.32 from 1,209 | Below the cutoff, and a small rating count |
| Hero Siege: Pocket Edition | $4.49. Play 2.13 from 7,397 | Far below the cutoff |
| Oceanhorn | Play 3.48 | More adventure than action RPG, and under the cutoff |
| Honkai: Star Rail | Play 3.68 from 524,549 | Under the cutoff, and a turn-based game, so it fails our real-time test. Three of the pages we read list it |
| Nonstop Knight 2 | Play 4.20 from 56,485. Ads flagged, items up to $99.99 | Passes our filters. We left it out because the listing describes simple auto-play: the Knight runs and you tap skills |
| Also passed our filters: Dungeon Hunter 5, Chronicle of Infinity, Immortal Awakening, METRIA, Avalar: Shadow War, Soul Knight Prequel | Play scores 4.27, 4.65, 4.53, 4.28, 4.22 and 4.47 | Good enough to try. Our picks already cover each style. Chronicle of Infinity and Immortal Awakening list online PvP, and METRIA lists online multiplayer |
| Shadow Fight 3 | Play 4.59. The listing says it needs a stable internet connection | It turned up in our search for offline action RPGs. Its own listing says otherwise |
| Vampire's Fall: Origins | Play 4.65 from 665,068 | The listing calls it turn-based. It is in our offline RPG guide, not here |
Review scores are not proof of quality. A low score can come from old complaint waves. A high score can come from a small group. That is why we show both stores.
Dead, delisted or not out yet
These still show up on other lists or in news. We checked each one.
| Game | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The Elder Scrolls: Blades | Servers shut down 30 June 2026, and Engadget says it was already pulled from app stores. It did not show up in our Google Play search | Engadget |
| Marvel Future Revolution | Closed 25 August 2023. It did not show up in our Google Play search | Pocket Gamer |
| Dragalia Lost | Nintendo says it ended service on 29 November 2022. It did not show up in our Google Play search | Nintendo support |
| Monster Hunter Outlanders | Not out yet. Launch is set for 29 October 2026 on iOS and Android. Its Play page shows no ratings yet | Anime News Network |
Monster Hunter Outlanders is the one to watch. We will not rank a game with no ratings and no release.
Download size, data and battery
The install file on Android is often only the start. Below is the latest install file listed on APKMirror for nine games. Next to it is the iPhone download size from the App Store.
| Game | Install file (APKMirror) | iPhone download |
|---|---|---|
| Eternium | 73.21 MB (22 Sep 2026) | 1.2 GB |
| Soul Knight | 41.47 MB (21 Sep 2026) | 1.5 GB |
| Magic Rampage | 141.10 MB (12 Aug 2026) | 237 MB |
| Dungeon Hunter 6 | 37.84 MB (28 Sep 2026) | 2.0 GB |
| Warframe | 53.28 MB (23 Sep 2026) | 4.0 GB |
| Where Winds Meet | 60.98 MB (16 Sep 2026) | 3.7 GB |
| Wuthering Waves | 25.11 MB (29 Sep 2026) | 3.4 GB |
| Arknights: Endfield | 79.05 MB (1 Sep 2026) | 3.7 GB |
| Devil May Cry: Peak of Combat | 58.00 MB (31 Jul 2026) | 4.0 GB |
The gap is big for every game here, even the small ones. Android games often install small and fetch game data later. We did not measure that later download on Android. Treat the iPhone number as a rough sign of the full size, keep a few GB free, and use wifi for the first run.
APKMirror sizes are a guide, not a promise. They are for one build, and your phone may get a different split file. Offline picks also save mobile data, but ads can still load when you are online.
Pay-to-win, spending and kids
We cannot play every game for 100 hours, so we do not give a pay-to-win verdict for every pick. Here is what we can say.
- Money edge, sourced: Diablo Immortal. A 2022 GameRevolution guide says the endgame is built around spending for better gem odds.
- Developer says no pay-to-win: Eternium and Where Winds Meet. That is each developer's own claim.
- Pay once, then extras: Dead Cells, Exiled Kingdoms and Shadow of Death still list in-app items.
- Age ratings: Diablo Immortal and Warframe are Mature 17+ on Play. Eternium, Torchlight, Dungeon Hunter 6 and Wuthering Waves are Teen. Heroes of Loot is Everyone.
Before you hand a phone to a child, turn on purchase approval. Google explains how in its purchase verification guide. On iPhone, Apple's parental controls page covers Ask to Buy.
Pick by need
- No wifi on the train: Eternium, Shadow of Death, Arcane Quest Legends, Otherworld Legends or Magic Rampage.
- Pay once, never think about it: Dead Cells or Heroes of Loot (no ads and no in-app items on Play).
- Controller on your phone: Grimvalor, Soul Knight and Magic Rampage say they support one. Dead Cells mentions only "MFi" controllers, an Apple term.
- Classic hack and slash: Grimvalor, AnimA or Almora Darkosen.
- Co-op with friends: Warframe, Blackmoor 2 or Soul Knight.
- Loot and builds, free: Diablo Immortal or Torchlight: Infinite.
- Looks and story: Wuthering Waves or Where Winds Meet.
- Want something harder or turn-based: try our soulslike games, roguelikes or MMORPGs.
How we checked these games
- We read eight pages for this search from seven sites: Pocket Gamer, GAMES.GG, Mobile Tier (two pages), Android Authority, Android Ally, RPGWH and HardcoreDroid. We used them to build a candidate list and to see which games come up most.
- We pulled the live US Google Play listing for each candidate on 1 October 2026, then pulled every pick again to confirm. That gave price, ads flag, in-app price range, rating, ratings count and update date.
- Our filters: still on Google Play, a Play score of 4.0 or higher, at least 1,000 ratings, and real-time combat. Play must also show an update since 1 April 2025, where it shows a date. Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance is the one exception. It is a finished paid game last updated May 2023. For a few big live games, Play did not show an update date to our tool.
- We looked up each pick on the US App Store for price, rating and download size. iPhone sizes are not Android sizes. Android install-file sizes come from APKMirror and only exist for some games.
- All our picks returned a live Google Play page on 1 October 2026. We opened the news and support pages named in the tables above. We also asked search-style questions to see what people and assistants get back. We could not ask Gemini or Claude chat directly.
- "Offline" and "controller" appear only when the Play listing says so. Everything else says "not confirmed" or "not stated."
- Play's "contains ads" flag is not perfect. And developer claims such as "no pay-to-win" are their words, not ours.
- We did not write play-time reviews. This page is about the facts you can check.
Last checked: 1 October 2026. Update log: 1 October 2026, added Shadow of Death, a download size table and a longer FAQ, and fixed the sources. We will look again in a few months.
Bottom line
Want a free action RPG that works offline? Install Eternium first. Want to pay once? Get Dead Cells. Want the biggest free loot grind? Try Diablo Immortal, and set a limit before you open the shop.
Need more? See our best offline RPGs, best mobile games or best free mobile games. For online worlds, try the best MMORPGs. Short on time? Our endless runner and board game guides fit a few minutes.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best action RPG for Android in 2026?
Eternium is our top free pick. It has no ads on its Play listing and no energy timer. If you want to pay once, get Dead Cells for $8.49.
What is the best offline action RPG for Android?
Eternium plays offline after its first download, says its listing. Shadow of Death, Arcane Quest Legends, Otherworld Legends and Magic Rampage also say they work offline. We marked other games "not confirmed" when the listing was silent.
Is Diablo Immortal pay-to-win?
Money matters most in the endgame. A 2022 GameRevolution guide says the endgame is balanced around spending for better gem odds. You can still play the story for free, and Play shows items up to $199.99.
Which action RPGs are a one-time buy?
Dead Cells ($8.49), Exiled Kingdoms ($5.99), Shadow of Death ($3.99), Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance ($12.99) and Heroes of Loot ($3.49) on Google Play. Dead Cells, Exiled Kingdoms and Shadow of Death still list in-app items. Grimvalor has a free first act and a paid unlock.
What are good hack and slash games for Android?
Grimvalor, Arcane Quest Legends, AnimA ARPG and Almora Darkosen RPG are hack-and-slash picks on this page. Dead Cells is a roguelite platformer with a similar feel.
Which action RPGs support a controller?
Grimvalor, Soul Knight and Magic Rampage say so on their Play listings. Dead Cells only mentions MFi controllers, which is an Apple term, so test it first. We only list support when the listing says it.
What is the difference between an action RPG and a hack and slash?
An action RPG is any RPG with real-time combat, where you level up and collect gear. Hack and slash is one style of it, with fast melee fights and many enemies at once. Grimvalor and AnimA are the closest examples here.
Which action RPGs have no ads?
14 of our 23 picks have no ads flagged on Google Play, including Eternium, Dead Cells and Diablo Immortal. Play's ads flag is not perfect, so check the listing before you install.
Is Pascal's Wager worth buying?
It costs $4.99 on Google Play, but its score is 3.12 from 17,019 ratings, under our 4.0 cutoff. It also lists in-app items up to $99.99. Read recent reviews before you buy.
Which action RPGs are free with no pay-to-win?
Eternium is the closest on this page: no stamina or energy timer, and its developer says you never need to pay to win. That is the developer's claim, and its shop still goes up to $99.99.
Why is Genshin Impact not in the picks?
Its Play score is 3.30 from over 5 million ratings, below our 4.0 cutoff. Its App Store score is 4.23. It is still free to try. Our games like Genshin page covers it.





